Blog · 8 Sep 2026 · 9 min read
How much does Vanta cost? The published rate card, and what buyers actually pay
§ Live · Compliance scan
One free run. Nothing you pick is stored.
Fintech, US · what a scan returns
- § 01 Written AML program with a named officer
- § 02 KYC and customer due diligence
- § 03 Sanctions screening lists Changed
- § 04 PCI DSS v4.0 validation
The short answer: Vanta costs about $20,000 a year at the median, based on 169 recorded purchases in Vendr's contract database read on 8 September 2026, with deals running from roughly $7,500 to $57,221. Its published list prices, which do exist, start at $14,000 a year for the Essentials package on a 12-month contract for a company of 1 to 20 employees, $21,500 for Plus and $23,000 for Professional. Add-on modules are priced separately and cost roughly as much as a package. Buyers negotiate an average of 29.83 percent off the first quote.
That last number is the one to hold onto, because it is the widest discount recorded at any major compliance platform, and it exists for a reason worth understanding before you take a demo.
Vanta does publish prices, just not on vanta.com
Nearly every guide to this question opens by saying Vanta keeps its pricing private. Checked on 8 September 2026, that is true of its own website: vanta.com/pricing lists four tiers, Essentials, Plus, Professional and Enterprise, shows no dollar figure anywhere, and routes every tier to a demo request.
It is not true of AWS Marketplace. Vendors selling there have to publish contract dimensions with prices attached, because the buyer transacts against an AWS bill rather than a sales order. Vanta's listing carries ten priced lines. Read on 8 September 2026, for a 12-month contract:
| Line item | What the listing covers | List price |
|---|---|---|
| Essentials Package | Starting cost, 1 to 20 employees | $14,000 |
| Plus Package | Starting cost, 1 to 20 employees | $21,500 |
| Professional Package | Starting cost, 1 to 20 employees | $23,000 |
| Customer Trust Management | Trust Center Advanced plus Questionnaire Automation Advanced | $22,250 |
| Questionnaire Automation Advanced | 288 questionnaires a year | $16,000 |
| Third Party Risk Management | Up to 50 vendors managed per year | $13,600 |
| Questionnaire Automation | 144 questionnaires a year | $10,000 |
| Trust Center Advanced | Module, 1 to 20 employees | $10,000 |
| AWS FTR Module | AWS Foundational Technical Review | $7,500 |
| Trust Center | Module, 1 to 20 employees | $6,000 |
These are list prices before negotiation, and the package rows are explicitly labelled as starting costs for the smallest headcount band. They are still more useful than any estimate, because they are Vanta's own numbers rather than a survey of what somebody remembers paying.
Why the published entry price is higher than most estimates
A lot of published guidance puts Vanta's starting point somewhere between $7,500 and $12,000 for a company under 50 people. The listed starting price for Essentials at 1 to 20 employees is $14,000. If you have budgeted from a secondary source, you are probably budgeted low, and the first quote will read as a shock rather than an opening position.
There is a likely explanation for where the low estimates come from. The bottom of Vendr's recorded Vanta range is $7,500. The AWS FTR module lists at exactly $7,500. It is reasonable to read the cheapest contracts in that dataset as single-module purchases rather than compliance platform deals, which would make $7,500 the price of one narrow add-on and not the price of Vanta. Whenever you see a range quoted for enterprise software, the low end usually describes a smaller scope, not a better negotiator.
Modules are where the quote grows
The most useful thing in the rate card is the relationship between packages and modules. Third party risk management lists at $13,600, against $14,000 for the entire Essentials package. Customer Trust Management lists at $22,250, against $23,000 for Professional. These are not small add-ons that round the number up. Attach two of them to a mid-tier package and the contract has roughly doubled.
This is the mechanism behind the common complaint that a Vanta quote grew between the demo and the order form. Nothing improper happened; the modules were always separately priced. The defence is to decide before the demo which modules you will genuinely use in year one, and to refuse the rest even when they arrive discounted inside a bundle. A module you switch on because it was nearly free this year sits in your renewal baseline permanently, and renewal is where the price of compliance tooling quietly compounds. Finance teams that keep an eye on what their software spend is doing across the stack tend to catch that pattern a year earlier than teams reading each renewal in isolation.
What buyers actually sign, next to the alternatives
List price and signed price are different things. Recorded contract data from Vendr's marketplace, read on 8 September 2026, for the platforms competing for the same SOC 2 and ISO 27001 work:
| Platform | Median a year | Recorded range | Average saving off first quote |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vanta | $20,000 | $7,500 to $57,221 | 29.83% |
| Drata | $25,000 | $9,494 to $67,350 | 23.22% |
| Secureframe | $20,000 | $7,733 to $32,575 | Not reported |
| Sprinto | $15,000 | $13,167 to $16,000 | Not reported |
| Hyperproof | $41,400 | $22,215 to $70,000 | 21% |
Vanta's median sits about $5,000 below Drata's and level with Secureframe's. The spread across the three is narrow enough that it should not decide your shortlist; framework count, headcount band and module list will move your own number further than the difference between these medians.
The discount column is the more interesting one. Across every category we have tracked, the size of the average discount tracks how substitutable a product is. Workiva concedes about 11 percent because nothing else assembles a 10-K. Diligent concedes under 8 percent because board portals have no drop-in replacement. Vanta concedes nearly 30 percent because Drata, Secureframe and Sprinto all do the same core job to a similar standard. A wide discount is not generosity, it is a market structure, and it is yours to use.
The four things that decide your number
Headcount, in bands. The rate card prices each package for a 1 to 20 employee company and steps up from there. You are billed on the size of the company, not on the three or four people who log in. Hiring through a band boundary raises your renewal on its own, with nothing about your compliance program having changed.
Framework count. The tiers differ largely in how many frameworks they cover, so SOC 2 alone and SOC 2 with ISO 27001 and HIPAA are commercially different products. If a second framework is plausible inside eighteen months, get it priced into this contract rather than added mid-term at whatever the rate is then.
Modules. Covered above, and the single biggest source of variance between two companies of the same size paying very different amounts.
What is not in the subscription at all. The audit. Vanta prepares you and packages evidence, but a SOC 2 report has to be issued by a licensed CPA firm and an ISO 27001 certificate by an accredited certification body, each a separate paid engagement. Any penetration test your framework or a large customer requires is separate again. The software line is not the compliance budget.
How to use all this in the actual negotiation
Ask for four things in writing, and notice that none of them is the headline rate. The headcount band boundaries, and what happens commercially when you cross one. A renewal uplift cap, stated as a fixed percentage. The module list with every price broken out rather than presented as a bundle total. And a quoted price for adding your likely second framework, obtained now while you still have leverage. Those four terms decide what you pay in year two, and year two is where the money is.
Then run a genuine parallel evaluation and say that you are running one. The 29.83 percent average saving is not available to buyers who have already decided; it is what the number does when a vendor believes it might lose. Getting a scoped written quote from one competitor costs you an afternoon and is worth several thousand dollars on a $20,000 contract.
The thing none of these platforms cover
Whatever you pay, you are buying continuous testing of controls you have already written, against frameworks you have already picked. That is a closed loop. The platform watches your systems, not the regulators, so when the rule behind a control changes, nothing alerts you. The control still passes, because it is being tested faithfully against last year's requirement.
That is the gap we built Complianceofficer for: watching the rulebooks behind your controls, across SOX and PCAOB guidance, BSA and AML, sanctions, privacy and the security frameworks, and telling you in plain language when one of them moves and which of your policies it touches. It sits beside a SOC 2 platform rather than replacing one, and our pricing is published openly at $149 a month or $894 a year with no quote process. The compliance scan on the site is the part you can run before you buy anything.
For the full rate card with sourcing and the negotiation checklist, see the Vanta pricing breakdown. If you are still comparing platforms rather than budgeting for one, the Vanta alternatives comparison covers what each competitor is genuinely better at, and Vanta vs Drata pricing takes the two-horse race in detail.
General regulatory information, not legal advice. Written by the team at ComplianceOfficer building Complianceofficer; verify anything consequential with qualified counsel.