Pricing · rate card re-read 24 Sept 2026
Vanta pricing and Vanta cost per year from the published rate card, with the alternatives priced
Vanta pricing starts at $14,000 a year for the Essentials package at 1 to 20 employees on Vanta's own AWS Marketplace rate card, $21,500 for Plus and $23,000 for Professional, with every add-on module priced on top. Buyers recorded on Vendr pay about $20,000 a year at the median and take close to 30 percent off the first quote. Below are the full rate card, the median contract, and how Vanta compares with Drata and the rest on price.
Know what you are buying before you take the demo
Vanta prices on frameworks and headcount, so the quote depends on which rules apply to you. Pick your industry and framework and get the register first. No signup, nothing stored.
§ Live · Compliance scan
One free run. Nothing you pick is stored.
Fintech, US · first rows of a real scan
- § 01 Control environment and governance
- § 02 Risk assessment and monitoring of controls
- § 03 Logical access controls
- § 04 System monitoring and incident response
Short answer
Vanta costs about $20,000 a year at the median, based on 169 recorded purchases in Vendr's contract database read on 8 September 2026, with deals running from roughly $7,500 to $57,221. Vanta's own published AWS Marketplace rate card starts at $14,000 for the Essentials package on a 12-month contract for a company of 1 to 20 employees, $21,500 for Plus and $23,000 for Professional. Add-on modules are priced separately and are expensive relative to the platform: third-party risk management is $13,600 and the Customer Trust Management bundle is $22,250. Buyers negotiate an average of 29.83 percent off the first quote, the widest discount recorded at any major compliance platform.
Vanta's published rate card, read from AWS Marketplace on 8 September 2026
Software vendors who sell through AWS Marketplace have to list contract dimensions with prices, because a buyer is transacting against an AWS bill rather than a sales order. That obligation is why Vanta's numbers are public here and nowhere else. These are list prices for a 12-month contract, before any negotiation, and the package rows are explicitly labelled as starting costs for a company of 1 to 20 employees.
| Line item | What the listing says it covers | 12-month list price |
|---|---|---|
| Essentials Package | Starting cost for 1 to 20 employees | $14,000 |
| Plus Package | Starting cost for 1 to 20 employees | $21,500 |
| Professional Package | Starting cost for 1 to 20 employees | $23,000 |
| Customer Trust Management | Bundle of Trust Center Advanced and Questionnaire Automation Advanced | $22,250 |
| Questionnaire Automation Advanced | 288 security questionnaires a year | $16,000 |
| Third Party Risk Management | Up to 50 vendors managed per year | $13,600 |
| Questionnaire Automation | 144 security questionnaires a year | $10,000 |
| Trust Center Advanced | Trust Center Advanced module for 1 to 20 employees | $10,000 |
| AWS FTR Module | AWS Foundational Technical Review module | $7,500 |
| Trust Center | Trust Center module for 1 to 20 employees | $6,000 |
Source: Vanta's AWS Marketplace product listing, contract dimensions section, read 8 September 2026. List prices, not quotes. Re-check before you rely on them.
Three things the rate card tells you that the vendor blogs get wrong
The entry price is higher than the internet says
A lot of published guides put Vanta's entry point at $7,500 to $12,000 for a company under 50 people. The listed starting price for Essentials at 1 to 20 employees is $14,000. If you are budgeting off a blog number, you are budgeting low, and the first quote will not feel like a negotiation, it will feel like a surprise.
The cheapest recorded contract is probably not a platform deal
The low end of Vendr's recorded Vanta range is $7,500. The AWS FTR module lists at exactly $7,500. That is a strong hint the cheapest contracts in the dataset are single modules rather than the compliance platform, so quoting $7,500 as what Vanta costs a small company is misleading. Treat the low end of any range as scope, not as a discount you can ask for.
Modules cost about as much as the platform
Third-party risk management lists at $13,600 against $14,000 for the entire Essentials package. Customer Trust Management lists at $22,250 against $23,000 for Professional. Add two modules to a mid-tier package and you have roughly doubled the contract. This is where a Vanta quote grows between the demo and the order form.
What buyers actually pay, and how far the quote moves
List price and signed price are different numbers. The table below is recorded contract data from Vendr's marketplace, read on 8 September 2026, for the four platforms that genuinely compete for the same SOC 2 and ISO 27001 work. The column that matters most is the last one: it tells you how much room the vendor has, and Vanta has the most room in the category.
| Platform | Median contract a year | Recorded range | Average saving off first quote |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vanta | $20,000 | $7,500 to $57,221 | 29.83% |
| Drata | $25,000 | $9,494 to $67,350 | 23.22% |
| Secureframe | $20,000 | $7,733 to $32,575 | Not reported |
| Sprinto | $15,000 | $13,167 to $16,000 | Not reported |
| Hyperproof | $41,400 | $22,215 to $70,000 | 21% |
Vendr marketplace contract data, read 8 September 2026. Vanta 169 recorded purchases, Drata 127. Recorded purchase counts drift between visits, so treat the median, the range and the discount as the durable figures.
Sprinto's range is the tell in that table. Every other platform records a spread of four to eight times between its cheapest and most expensive deal, and Sprinto's runs from $13,167 to $16,000. The published rate card explains it: a $7,500 platform line plus $2,000 per framework lands almost every buyer within a few thousand dollars of $15,000, whatever the framework count. The full card is on our Sprinto pricing page. Note that Vanta's packages are quoted at 1 to 20 employees and Sprinto's platform at up to 100, so compare scope before you compare the two numbers.
What actually moves your Vanta number
1. Employee headcount, in bands
The dominant driver, and the one you cannot argue with, because the contract is written against a band rather than a seat count. Hiring through a boundary raises the renewal on its own. Ask for the exact band boundaries in writing and model the headcount you expect at renewal, not the one you have at signature.
2. How many frameworks you run
The package tiers differ largely in framework coverage, so SOC 2 alone and SOC 2 plus ISO 27001 plus HIPAA are different products commercially. If you know a second framework is coming within eighteen months, price it now and get it into this contract rather than paying to add it mid-term.
3. Modules, which are the real variable
Trust Center, questionnaire automation and vendor risk are separately priced and, as the rate card shows, individually comparable to a whole package. Decide which ones you will genuinely use in year one and refuse the rest. A module you turn on because it was in the bundle still sits in your renewal baseline forever.
4. What is not in the number at all
The audit. Vanta gets you ready and packages evidence; a licensed CPA firm issues the SOC 2 report and an accredited body issues the ISO 27001 certificate, both as separate paid engagements. Any penetration test your framework expects is separate too. Build the full-year compliance budget, not the software line.
The job Vanta's price does not cover
Everything above buys you continuous testing of controls you have already written down, against frameworks you have already chosen. That is genuinely valuable and Vanta does it well. It is also a closed loop: the platform watches your systems, not the regulators. When the rule behind a control changes, nothing in an evidence-collection tool tells you, because the control still passes its test. It is testing the old requirement faithfully.
That gap is the reason regulatory change monitoring is priced and bought separately from framework automation, and it is the job we built ComplianceOfficer to do: watch the rulebooks that sit behind your controls, across SOX and PCAOB guidance, BSA and AML, sanctions, privacy and the security frameworks, and say in plain language when one of them moves and which framework on your register it touches. If you are already committed to a SOC 2 platform, the two sit side by side rather than competing. Our pricing is published on the pricing page at $149 a month or $894 a year, with no quote process, and the compliance scan above is the part you can check today.
If you are still choosing between platforms rather than budgeting for one, the Vanta competitors and alternatives sets out what each competitor is genuinely better at, and the SOC 2 compliance software page covers what the framework itself requires before any tool is involved.
Questions buyers ask before signing
How much does Vanta cost per year?
About $20,000 a year at the median, across 169 recorded purchases in Vendr's contract data read on 8 September 2026, with deals from roughly $7,500 to $57,221. Vanta's published AWS Marketplace list prices for a 1 to 20 employee company on a 12-month contract are $14,000 for Essentials, $21,500 for Plus and $23,000 for Professional, before modules and before any discount.
Does Vanta publish its pricing?
Not on its own site. Checked on 8 September 2026, vanta.com/pricing lists four tiers, Essentials, Plus, Professional and Enterprise, with no dollar figure anywhere and a demo request on every one. It does publish a ten-line rate card on its AWS Marketplace listing, which is where the numbers on this page come from.
Does Vanta charge per employee or per user?
Per employee headcount band, not per named user of the software. Each package on the rate card is priced as a starting cost for a 1 to 20 employee company and steps up from there. The practical consequence is that three people use the product and the whole company is billed, so headcount growth is a pricing event even when your compliance program has not changed.
How much can you negotiate off Vanta?
More than at any comparable platform. Vendr records an average saving of 29.83 percent off the first quote at Vanta, against 23.22 percent at Drata, about 21 percent at Hyperproof and about 11 percent at Workiva. Thin discounts signal pricing power and wide ones signal substitutes, and Vanta has three credible ones. Run a real parallel evaluation and say so. If the parallel quote is Hyperproof, our Hyperproof vs Vanta pricing comparison shows where each bill grows.
Is Vanta cheaper than Drata?
On the recorded medians, yes, by about $5,000 a year: roughly $20,000 against $25,000, read on 8 September 2026. Secureframe matches Vanta at about $20,000 and Sprinto comes in lower at about $15,000. The spread is narrow enough that framework count, module list and headcount band will decide your number, so get quotes from two of them scoped identically before reading anything into the medians.
Does the Vanta price include the audit?
No. The subscription buys readiness, continuous control testing and evidence packaging. The SOC 2 report itself must be issued by a licensed CPA firm and an ISO 27001 certificate by an accredited certification body, each a separate paid engagement. Penetration testing, where your framework or a customer requires it, is separate again.
Why did my Vanta renewal go up?
Usually because you hired through a headcount band boundary, which raises the price without anything about your compliance work changing. The other common cause is modules added mid-term, which are separately priced and stay in the renewal baseline. Both are avoidable at signature by getting the band boundaries and a renewal cap into the order form.
What should I ask for in writing?
Four things, and none of them are the rate. The headcount band boundaries and what happens when you cross one. A renewal uplift cap as a fixed percentage. The module list with each price broken out rather than a bundle total. And the cost of adding your likely second framework, quoted now. Those four decide what you pay in year two, which is where the money is.
Related registers
- Continuous Compliance Monitoring
- Compliance Monitoring Software
- Compliance Software Cost
- Enterprise Compliance Software for CCOs and CISOs
- GRC Software and Governance Risk Compliance Software
- GDPR Compliance Software
- Compliance Automation Software
- AML Transaction Monitoring and the Rules Behind It
- SOC 2 Compliance Software Beyond Audit Readiness
- Policy Compliance Software and Policy Tracking Software
- Policy Attestation Software and Acknowledgement Tracking
- Regulatory Change Management Software, Tools and Platform
- HIPAA Compliance Software and the Security Rule Rewrite
- ISO 27001 Software for ISMS Compliance and Annex A
- Vendor Risk Management Software for Third Party Risk
- PCI Compliance Software Tied to PCI DSS 4.0.1
- Audit Management Software and the Rules Behind the Audit
- SOX Compliance
- Segregation of Duties Software
- Financial Services Compliance Software for RIAs and BDs
- 21 CFR Part 11 Compliant Software, GxP Compliance Software
- ITGC Controls Software for SOX IT General Controls Audits
- Compliance Reporting and Dashboard Software Compared by Cost
- SOX Compliance Software Prices for Six SOX 404 Tools
- Best Compliance Software in 2026, Compared
- CMMC Compliance Software for DoD Contractors
- Enterprise Risk Management Software
- Compliance Software Pricing Comparison
- Healthcare Compliance Software for OIG Compliance Programs
- Bank Compliance Software for Financial Institutions, BSA/AML
- Mortgage compliance software
- Crypto compliance software
- Personal trading compliance software
- RIA Compliance Software
- Broker Dealer Compliance Software
- Hedge Fund Compliance Software
- Insurance Compliance Software
- AI Compliance Software
- AML Compliance Software, KYC and Screening Tools Compared
- Regulatory Compliance Software with Compliance Tracking
- CCPA Compliance Software, Data Privacy Management Software
- Compliance Risk Assessment Software
- AI Governance Tool, Platform and Software for US Teams
- Business Continuity Plan Software, BCM and Disaster Recovery
- SOX 404(b) Compliance Software, Requirements and Threshold
- Integrated Risk Management Software, IRM Platform and Tools
- AuditBoard Pricing and Cost 2026
- PowerDMS Pricing and Cost 2026
- Regulatory change management software pricing
- NAVEX Pricing 2026
- Hyperproof Pricing and Cost 2026
- Diligent Pricing and Diligent Boards Pricing
- OneTrust Pricing 2026
- Workiva Pricing and Wdesk Pricing
- Drata Pricing 2026
- Vanta Competitors and Alternatives
- Drata Competitors and Alternatives
- Secureframe Alternative for Regulatory Change
- Sprinto Alternative for Regulatory Change
- AuditBoard Competitors and Alternatives (Now Optro)
- SecurityScorecard pricing
- Global Relay pricing vs Smarsh
- ComplySci pricing
- Riskonnect pricing
- ZenGRC pricing
- Regology alternatives
- NAVEX Competitors and NAVEX Global Alternatives, Priced
- OneTrust Competitors
- Workiva Competitors and Alternatives
§ 99 · Final entry
Create your account
Leave your work email, confirm the 6-digit code, and your account is ready. Nothing is charged to create it.