Skip to content
complianceofficer

Workiva competitors and alternatives: pricing, Workiva vs AuditBoard, and who each tool is for

Workiva competitors split by job, not by category, and that is the single thing most shortlists get wrong. Workiva is a reporting engine that grew GRC modules, so the vendor you should be comparing it against depends entirely on whether you are buying disclosure assembly, financial close, SOX control testing or security framework automation. Below is the honest map, with real recorded contract data for nine platforms verified on 30 August 2026, an answer to the Workiva vs AuditBoard question, and a straight account of where Workiva genuinely has no substitute. We are in early access and mark every claim about ourselves as a plan.

Start from the rules that apply to you

Before you sit through another enterprise demo, get the register of what actually applies to your sector. Pick your industry and framework below. No signup, nothing stored.

§ Live · Compliance scan

No signup. Nothing you pick is stored.

Frameworks you answer to

Sample register · fintech, US · what a scan returns

  • § 01 Written AML program with a named officer
  • § 02 KYC and customer due diligence
  • § 03 Sanctions screening lists Changed
  • § 04 PCI DSS v4.0 validation

Short answer · last updated August 2026

Workiva's closest competitors are Optro (formerly AuditBoard), Diligent, Archer and MetricStream for SOX and internal audit; BlackLine, FloQast and OneStream for the financial close; DFIN ActiveDisclosure, Certent and Toppan Merrill for SEC filing; and Vanta, Drata, Secureframe and Sprinto for SOC 2 and ISO 27001. Vendr data re-verified on 30 August 2026 puts Workiva's median annual contract at about $49,420 against $45,947 for Optro, $40,125 for BlackLine and $25,335 for Diligent. Workiva buyers negotiate the smallest discount in the market, about 11 percent off the opening quote, because nothing else assembles a 10-K the way it does.

Workiva competitors, mapped by the job you are actually buying

Analyst sites file Workiva under GRC and then list twenty products next to it. That list is useless in a real evaluation, because a team replacing Workiva's XBRL tagging and a team replacing its SOX module are not shopping in the same market. Sort the field by job first and the shortlist gets short.

The job Real competitors How Workiva compares on it
SEC filing and disclosure assembly DFIN ActiveDisclosure, Certent (insightsoftware), Toppan Merrill Bridge Strongest position it holds. Linked data plus inline XBRL means a changed number updates everywhere it appears.
Financial close and reconciliation BlackLine, FloQast, OneStream Adjacent rather than equivalent. BlackLine owns reconciliations and close tasks; Workiva picks the numbers up afterwards.
SOX control testing and internal audit Optro (formerly AuditBoard), Diligent, Archer, MetricStream, Onspring, LogicGate Competitive but not dominant. Documentation and reporting are excellent; the tester's day-to-day workflow is lighter.
SOC 2 and ISO 27001 automation Vanta, Drata, Secureframe, Sprinto Not really a contest. These tools pull evidence from your cloud automatically at a fraction of the price.
ESG and sustainability reporting Sphera, Watershed, Persefoni, IBM Envizi Strong, for the same reason as SEC filing: assurance-ready, auditable, linked to the financial statements.
Knowing when the underlying rule changed Regulatory change monitoring tools, including Complianceofficer Not what it does. Workiva watches your documents, not the regulators publishing the rules those documents answer to.

Vendor positioning stated in good faith from each company's public material, August 2026.

Workiva pricing against its competitors: real recorded contracts

None of these vendors publishes a rate card. The figures below come from Vendr's marketplace, which records what buyers actually paid rather than what a salesperson quoted first. Every row was opened and re-read on 30 August 2026. Treat them as reported buyer data, not as a quote you will be given.

Platform Median annual contract Recorded range Average saving off first quote
Workiva $49,420 $12,736 to $153,365 about 11%
Optro (formerly AuditBoard) $45,947 $21,220 to $111,208 about 16%
LogicGate $53,784 $12,294 to $136,130 about 19%
Hyperproof $41,400 $22,215 to $70,000 about 21%
BlackLine $40,125 $13,154 to $101,000 not reported
Onspring $33,808 $9,972 to $55,810 not reported
Diligent $25,335 $5,500 to $48,323 about 8%
Drata $25,000 $9,494 to $67,350 about 23%
Vanta $20,000 $7,500 to $57,221 about 30%

Source: Vendr marketplace, each vendor page opened 30 August 2026. Recorded purchase counts move between visits, so the median, range and discount are the durable figures.

The discount column is the one to read

Median price tells you what a platform costs. The discount column tells you how much leverage you have, and it tracks substitutability almost perfectly. Vanta buyers average about 30 percent off because four vendors will happily sell them the same SOC 2 automation. Workiva buyers average about 11 percent and Diligent buyers about 8 percent, because nothing else on the list assembles and tags a 10-K or runs a board portal the way those two do. If your procurement team applies a flat "we always get 20 percent off" rule, it will overshoot on Workiva and undershoot badly on Vanta.

One more line that catches people out: Workiva licenses by solution, not by seat. Adding the SOX solution to an existing SEC reporting contract is a new priced line rather than a handful of extra users. Ask for the per-solution breakdown in writing before you compare the total against anyone else's. There is more on how quotes get built in our SOX compliance software pricing breakdown and the multi-year contract discount data.

§ 21.1 · Their side, credited

What Workiva does that nothing else does

  • § 01 Built around the filing itself: the platform assembles the 10-K and 10-Q with linked data, so a changed number updates everywhere it appears
  • § 02 SEC and ESG reporting depth that no audit-workflow tool matches, including inline XBRL tagging
  • § 03 Strong multi-entity consolidation and statutory reporting for large, complex filers

Price picture: Enterprise, sales-quoted, no published rate card, licensed by solution rather than by seat. Vendr marketplace data puts the median annual contract at about $49,420, with deals running from roughly $12,736 to $153,365 a year and buyers averaging only about 11 percent off the opening quote (reported buyer data, not a quote, re-verified 30 August 2026). If your compliance output is a regulated document that has to tie out and survive assurance, Workiva is the reference implementation and switching away from it is usually a downgrade.

§ 21.2 · Where it stops

Where buyers start looking elsewhere

  • § 01 Reporting-first rather than testing-first: the SOX control testing workflow is lighter than a dedicated internal audit platform
  • § 02 Priced and scoped for large filers, so it is heavy for a mid-market first-year 404 program
  • § 03 Watches your documents, not the regulators publishing the rules those documents have to satisfy

None of this is a defect. It is the shape of a product built around the document. Problems that are not shaped like a document get served better by something else.

Workiva vs AuditBoard: the comparison everyone runs, answered

This is the most-searched Workiva comparison, and it usually gets framed as "which is the better SOX platform". That framing hides the answer. The two products were built for opposite ends of the same program: one is built to test a control, the other is built to report on it. Note also that AuditBoard rebranded to Optro on 9 March 2026, so a shortlist written before then is naming a company that no longer uses that name.

Dimension Workiva Optro (formerly AuditBoard)
Center of gravity The regulated document: 10-K, 10-Q, ESG report The control: RCM, test scripts, workpapers, issues
Primary buyer Corporate reporting, SEC reporting, controller Internal audit, SOX PMO
SOX control testing workflow Present, lighter, documentation-led Deep: built for teams testing hundreds of controls
SEC filing and XBRL Core capability, inline XBRL tagging Not its job
Median annual contract $49,420 $45,947
Negotiating room Thin, about 11% average saving Moderate, about 16% average saving
Buy it when Filing quality and tie-out is the constraint Test execution and evidence volume is the constraint

The reason large filers frequently end up owning both is that neither one covers the other's half well enough to drop it. If you are early enough in the evaluation to avoid that, decide which half is actually costing you hours today. The full head-to-head, including where each one's SOX module genuinely lands, is in AuditBoard vs Workiva, and the honest category roundup is at best compliance software.

Which alternative fits which situation

You are a first-year SOX filer

Workiva is heavy for this and priced for large filers. Look at Onspring at a median near $33,800 or Hyperproof near $41,400, both of which scope down more gracefully. Budget for the implementation separately: it commonly runs 30 to 100 percent of the first-year license across this market, and it is the line that surprises people.

You only need SOC 2 or ISO 27001

Do not buy an enterprise reporting platform for this. Vanta at a median near $20,000 and Drata near $25,000 pull evidence from your cloud automatically, and both discount hard because they compete head to head. Compare Vanta, Drata, Secureframe and Sprinto.

Your bottleneck is testing, not reporting

Go to Optro, Archer or MetricStream. The signal is simple: if your team's complaint is about chasing evidence and re-performing tests rather than about assembling the filing, a reporting-first platform will not fix it. See SOX 404 testing for what that workload actually looks like.

You run several subsidiaries

Entity counting is where multi-entity quotes go wrong, and vendors count an entity four different ways. The same corporate group can score three or forty-seven depending on the model. Read multi-entity compliance software pricing before you take any quote at face value.

Close and reconciliation is the pain

That is BlackLine, FloQast or OneStream territory, not Workiva's. BlackLine's median sits near $40,125. Workiva picks up numbers after the close is done; it does not manage reconciliations or close task lists for you.

You keep getting surprised by rule changes

No platform on this page monitors the regulators. They all assume a human read the rule and updated the system. That gap is what Complianceofficer is built for, and it sits alongside rather than instead of the tools above. See regulatory change management.

Workiva SOX compliance: what it does well, what it costs, and where it stops

Most people searching for Workiva and SOX in the same breath are asking one of two questions: whether the SOX module is worth adding to a contract they already have, or whether Workiva is the right first platform for a SOX program. Those have different answers, and the reason comes down to how the product is built and how it is licensed.

Workiva started life as Wdesk, a linked-data authoring environment. A number typed once propagates everywhere it appears, with the audit trail attached. Every module since has been built on that engine, which explains the product's shape precisely: it is exceptional wherever the output is a document that has to be internally consistent and defensible, and comparatively light wherever the work is performing and evidencing a control test. For SOX that means narrative documentation, the 302 and 404 assertions, management review evidence and the reporting pack are strong, while high-volume control testing workflow is the part buyers most often say they wanted more from.

On price, the thing to understand is that Workiva licenses by solution, not by seat. The bill is driven by expected use of each solution module, so adding SOX to an existing SEC reporting contract is a new priced line rather than additional users on the old one. That is the mechanical reason Workiva quotes look non-comparable against per-seat GRC tools, and it is why you should ask for the per-solution breakdown in writing before you compare anything. There is no public rate card; we checked across three independent contract-data sources on 30 August 2026 and none of them had one.

Recorded contract data from the same date puts the Workiva median at $49,420 a year against a range of $12,736 to $153,365, with an average saving off first quote of about 11 percent. That discount figure is the number worth carrying into a negotiation, because it is the second thinnest in this whole market. Vanta averages around 30 percent and Drata 23 percent. The gap is not sales culture, it is substitutability: four vendors can do SOC 2 automation, and essentially nobody else assembles a 10-K. Budget for a small discount and spend your leverage on term length and module scope instead.

On timing, plan for a SOX suite to take three to six months to reach a first full testing cycle, and for a SOX rollout specifically to run twelve to sixteen weeks in the mid-market or four to six months for a large filer, plus a full quarter of parallel running before you retire the spreadsheets. Services commonly add 30 to 100 percent of first-year license. If a proposal says audit ready in weeks, it means the platform is configured in weeks, which is a different claim. The full comparison against its closest rival is on AuditBoard vs Workiva for SOX compliance, the control-side requirements are on SOX compliance, and what the platforms in this bracket cost against each other is on SOX compliance software pricing.

Questions buyers ask about Workiva competitors

Who are Workiva's main competitors?

Workiva has different competitors in each of the four jobs it does. For SEC and disclosure reporting: DFIN ActiveDisclosure, Certent from insightsoftware and Toppan Merrill Bridge. For the financial close: BlackLine, FloQast and OneStream. For SOX controls testing and internal audit: Optro (formerly AuditBoard), Diligent, Archer and MetricStream. For security framework automation: Vanta, Drata, Secureframe and Sprinto. No single product competes across all four, which is why shortlists that treat Workiva as one category go wrong.

How much does Workiva cost per year?

Workiva quotes privately and publishes no rate card. Vendr marketplace data re-verified on 30 August 2026 puts the median annual contract at about $49,420, with recorded deals from roughly $12,736 to $153,365 a year. Buyers average only about 11 percent off the opening quote, the thinnest discount of any major GRC platform tracked. Licensing is by solution rather than by seat, so the number moves with how many solutions you turn on.

What is the best Workiva alternative for SOX?

For SOX control testing specifically, Optro (formerly AuditBoard) is the closest direct alternative, at a median of about $45,947 a year against Workiva's $49,420. Optro is testing-first: risk and control matrix, test scripts, workpapers and issue tracking. Workiva is reporting-first and lighter on the testing workflow. If your SOX program is mostly documentation and the 10-K, Workiva wins. If it is mostly testing hundreds of controls, Optro usually does.

Is Workiva a GRC tool or a reporting tool?

Both, but the reporting heritage drives the design. Workiva began as Wdesk, a linked-data authoring environment for SEC filings, and the GRC modules were built on that same engine. The consequence is that it is unusually strong wherever compliance output is a document that has to be assembled, reviewed and tied out, and comparatively light wherever compliance work is a test performed against a control.

Why is Workiva so expensive compared to other compliance software?

Two reasons show up in the contract data. Workiva sells by solution rather than by seat, so each area you add is a separate priced line. And it has almost no drop-in substitute for assembling and filing a 10-K, which shows in the negotiation: buyers average about 11 percent off the first quote at Workiva against about 30 percent at Vanta. Thin discounts are what pricing power looks like.

How do internal audit leaders rate Workiva's controls testing documentation and workflow management?

The consistent pattern in public reviews is that documentation and reporting rate highly while day-to-day test execution rates lower than dedicated audit platforms. Teams praise the linked data, version control and review trail, and the fact that a change flows through every document it touches. The recurring criticism is workflow depth for testers working through large control populations, which is exactly the area Optro and Archer were designed around.

What is the difference between Workiva and Complianceofficer?

Workiva produces the regulated output: the 10-K, the ESG report, the SOX documentation set. Complianceofficer watches the rulebooks behind that output and tells you in plain language when one of them changes, across SOX and PCAOB guidance, BSA/AML, sanctions, privacy and the security frameworks. One assembles the filing; the other tells you the rule the filing has to satisfy just moved. They answer different questions and are not substitutes. Our planned pricing is published at $149 to $1,499 a month on the pricing page, with no quote process. Everything we say about ourselves here is a launch plan, marked as such; the compliance scan above is the part you can verify today.

§ 21

Related registers

§ 99 · Final entry

Get on the early-access list

Leave your work email, confirm the 6-digit code, and we will email you when your spot opens. Nothing is charged before launch.