Skip to content
complianceofficer
§ 01

Pricing · verified 15 Sept 2026

Workiva pricing: what Workiva costs a year, the SOX compliance licensing model, and the only list price it publishes

Every page ranking for Workiva pricing says the same thing: Workiva publishes nothing, so here are some estimates. The first half is wrong. Workiva does publish a list price, on five AWS Marketplace listings, and the number is $1,000,000.00 for a twelve month contract. Recorded deals close at a median of $49,420. Both figures are real, and the distance between them is the most useful thing on this page, because it tells you exactly what kind of negotiation you are walking into.

Workiva prices by solution, so start by knowing which solutions you actually need

Every solution line is priced separately, so the quote turns on which obligations genuinely apply to you rather than on how many people log in. Pick your industry and get the register first. No signup, nothing stored.

§ Live · Compliance scan

One free run. Nothing you pick is stored.

Frameworks you answer to

Fintech, US · what a scan returns

  • § 01 Written AML program with a named officer
  • § 02 KYC and customer due diligence
  • § 03 Sanctions screening lists Changed
  • § 04 PCI DSS v4.0 validation

Short answer

Workiva costs $49,420 a year at the median, based on 102 recorded purchases in Vendr's contract database read on 15 September 2026, with deals running from $12,736 to $153,365. Workiva publishes no rate card on its own site, but its AWS Marketplace listing carries a single twelve month contract dimension at $1,000,000.00, a placeholder that pushes every buyer into a private offer. Pricing is by solution rather than by seat, so adding SOX to an existing SEC reporting contract is a new priced line. Buyers take an average of 11.44 percent off the first quote, among the thinnest discounts recorded anywhere in this market.

The one list price Workiva publishes, read from AWS Marketplace on 15 September 2026

Vendors selling through AWS Marketplace must attach a price to every listed contract dimension, because the buyer transacts against an AWS bill rather than a sales order. That obligation is the only reason any Workiva number is public. The listing is titled Workiva Platform for Financial Reporting, GRC, and Sustainability, and it has exactly one priced line. The same figure appears on all four regional listings, which is how you can tell it is intentional.

Listing Dimension Cost / 12 months
Workiva Platform (United States) Workiva Platform, billed in units under one contract $1,000,000.00
Workiva Platform (Canada) Single dimension, no tiers or add-on modules $1,000,000.00
Workiva Platform (United Kingdom) Single dimension, committed term $1,000,000.00
Workiva Platform (Netherlands) Single dimension, not split by tier or instance size $1,000,000.00
Workiva Platform (Japan) Single dimension, quantity of units committed for the term $1,000,000.00
Vendor refund policy, as published "To Be Determined"

Do not read that as what Workiva charges. Read it as what Workiva does not want you to click. A seven figure round number on a public marketplace is a standard way of keeping every transaction inside a privately negotiated offer, and the give-away is the refund policy field, which Workiva has left as the literal string "To Be Determined". Compare that with the itemised Drata rate card, where sixteen dimensions each carry a working price and the refund terms are stated outright. Two vendors, same marketplace, opposite disclosure strategies.

What buyers actually sign, and why the discount is so small

Recorded contract data is the honest counterweight to a placeholder list price. These figures come from Vendr's marketplace records, read 15 September 2026, alongside the other platforms tracked on this site. Sort the table by the last column rather than the first, because the discount is the number that tells you how the negotiation will go.

Platform Median contract / yr Recorded range Avg saving off first quote
Workiva $49,420 $12,736 to $153,365 11.44%
LogicGate $53,784 $12,294 to $136,130 19%
AuditBoard (Optro) $45,138 $26,205 to $123,222 Not reported
Hyperproof $41,400 $22,215 to $70,000 21.15%
Onspring $33,808 $9,972 to $55,810 Not reported
Diligent $25,335 $5,500 to $48,323 7.67%
Drata $25,000 $9,494 to $67,350 23.22%
Vanta $20,000 $7,500 to $57,221 29.83%

The ordering is not about generosity. It tracks substitutability almost perfectly. Vanta gives up nearly 30 percent because Drata, Secureframe and Sprinto all do the same core job, so a genuine parallel evaluation is credible. Workiva gives up 11 percent because nothing on the market drops in to assemble and file a 10-K. Diligent gives up less still, for the same reason applied to board portals. If you are budgeting for Workiva, plan on list minus roughly a tenth and spend your leverage on scope and term instead of headline rate. The fuller picture sits on our Workiva alternatives and competitors breakdown.

Workiva licenses by solution, not by seat, and that single fact explains most quote surprises

Almost every GRC platform you will compare against Workiva sells seats. Workiva sells solutions, priced on expected use of each one. SEC reporting is a line. SOX is a line. Internal audit is a line. ESG is a line. This is why a Workiva quote cannot be put next to a per-user quote and divided by headcount, and it is why the cost of "just adding SOX" lands so much higher than finance teams expect. You are not buying more logins, you are buying another priced solution.

Ask for the per-solution breakdown in writing

A single bundled total hides which line renews, which line grows, and which line you could drop next year. Get each solution priced on its own before signature. A bundle you cannot decompose is a bundle you cannot cut.

Pin the definition of expected use

If price is driven by expected use of a solution, then the counting rule belongs in the order form. Without it, growth in filings, entities or control counts becomes a renewal event that nobody agreed to at signature.

A module switched on cheaply stays in the baseline

A solution added at a token price in year one becomes part of the number your year two uplift is calculated from. Year two cost is set by what you accept in year one, so a free pilot line is rarely free.

Implementation is the line that surprises people

Services in this tier commonly add 30 to 100 percent of first-year license. Budget 3 to 6 months to a first full cycle on a SOX or internal audit rollout, plus a quarter of parallel running before the spreadsheets are retired.

Workiva for SOX compliance: where the money is well spent, and where it is not

Workiva began life as Wdesk, a linked-data authoring environment where a number changed in one place updates everywhere it appears. The GRC solutions were built on that engine. That origin predicts the answer better than any feature grid: Workiva is strong wherever the output is a document whose figures must tie, and comparatively light wherever the work is testing a control and evidencing the test. A SOX program attached to an SEC filing obligation uses both halves. A SOX-style program with no filing to produce is paying for an engine it will barely touch.

Before you price any of it, confirm you are genuinely in scope, because the filer thresholds ratchet and the common summary of them is wrong. You become an accelerated filer at $75 million of public float but stop being one only below $60 million, so a company that touches $75 million and falls back to $65 million keeps Section 404(b), the accelerated deadlines and the cost. Large accelerated filer status works the same way, entering at $700 million and exiting only below $560 million. And the line repeated everywhere that smaller reporting companies are exempt from 404(b) is false as usually written: the exclusion runs through the revenue test, so an SRC booking over $100 million of revenue with float between $75 million and $250 million remains an accelerated filer and still owes the auditor attestation. Revenue growth pulls companies into 404(b) far more often than a share price move does. We walk the whole test on the SOX 404(b) software page, and the tooling comparison sits on SOX compliance software.

One more thing worth knowing before a shortlist meeting: AuditBoard has no AWS Marketplace listing at all, checked 15 September 2026, so no published list price exists for it in any form. Where a head to head matters, we compare the two directly in AuditBoard vs Workiva.

Workiva's competitors are four different sets, which is why most alternative lists are useless

Analyst-style "top 10 Workiva alternatives" posts fail because they assume one market. There are four, and no product competes across all of them. Price a replacement against the right column or you will compare a $20,000 platform with a $49,420 one and conclude the cheap one won.

If the job is You are really comparing against Does Workiva fit
SEC filing and disclosure assembly DFIN ActiveDisclosure, Certent, Toppan Merrill Bridge Yes, this is its home ground
SOX testing and internal audit AuditBoard, Diligent, Archer, MetricStream, Onspring, LogicGate Yes, but against specialists
Financial close BlackLine, FloQast, OneStream Partly, adjacent rather than core
SOC 2 and ISO 27001 readiness Vanta, Drata, Secureframe, Sprinto No, wrong tool and wrong price
Tracking which rules changed Regulatory change monitoring, including us No, it reports on rules you already know

That last row is the gap worth naming. Workiva, AuditBoard and every platform in the table above assumes you already have an accurate list of the obligations that apply to you. None of them tells you when a rule changes, which is the failure that actually produces findings. That is the job we do, and it costs a fraction of any line in this table.

§ 80

Questions buyers ask

How much does Workiva cost per year?

$49,420 a year at the median, across 102 recorded purchases in Vendr's contract data read 15 September 2026, with deals from $12,736 to $153,365. Because Workiva licenses by solution rather than by seat, the number turns on how many solutions you switch on, not on how many people log in.

Does Workiva publish its pricing?

Not on workiva.com, which routes every plan to a demo. The only public list price is on AWS Marketplace: a single twelve month contract dimension at $1,000,000.00, identical across the US, Canada, UK, Netherlands and Japan listings, all read 15 September 2026.

Why is Workiva listed at $1,000,000 on AWS Marketplace?

Because it is a placeholder that routes every buyer into a private offer. AWS requires a listed dimension to carry a price, so a vendor wanting all deals negotiated posts a figure nobody will click. Treat it as a ceiling marker. Real contracts sit around $49,420, roughly twenty times lower.

What is the Workiva pricing model?

By solution, not per seat, driven by expected use of each solution you license. Adding SOX to an existing SEC reporting contract is a new priced line rather than extra users, which is why Workiva quotes cannot be compared like for like against per-user GRC tools.

How much does the Workiva SOX module cost?

No separate SOX price is published, and the AWS listing shows one undifferentiated platform dimension. What is verifiable is the shape: SOX is its own priced solution line, additive to any SEC reporting contract. Insist on the per-solution breakdown in writing before signing.

How much can you negotiate off Workiva?

An average 11.44 percent off the first quote across 102 purchases, against Vanta at 29.83 percent and Drata at 23.22 percent. The gap is substitutability, not goodwill. Nothing drops in to assemble a 10-K, so push on scope and term rather than headline rate.

Is Workiva worth the price for SOX compliance?

It turns on whether your output is a document or a control test. Workiva grew from Wdesk, a linked-data authoring engine, so it excels where figures must tie across a filing. A SOX program with no filing to produce is paying for an engine it will barely use.

What does the Workiva price not include?

Implementation, commonly 30 to 100 percent of first-year license in this tier, and the external audit itself, which is a separate engagement with your audit firm. Allow 3 to 6 months to a first full cycle plus a quarter of parallel running.

§ 90

Related registers

§ 99 · Final entry

Create your account

Leave your work email, confirm the 6-digit code, and your account is ready. Nothing is charged to create it.

Buy the plan